This site is 100% ad supported. Please add an exception to adblock for this site.

Theory objectives from ch. 8 of FN


undefined, object
copy deck
define development
It proceeds as an orderly, sequential series of changes. It can be continous and interdependent.
Define cephalcaudal
It is growth and development that proceeds from the head down to the toes.
Define proximodistal
growth and development that occurs from the center to the outside. ie..a baby has control over the shoulder first before control over his hands
any substance or agent that interferes with the normal prenatal development. causes abnormalities in formation of the fetus.(drinking, smoking)
What are some family and cultural considerations?
-be aware of patient's family and kinship
-values, flow of authority, family decision making patterns
-common foods and eating rituals-recognize religious beliefs that may affect health, illness, birth, and death
What are some changes affecting modern families?
economic changes (increase of females in work force), feminist movement, more effective birth control, legalized abortion, marriage and childbearing postponement, increase in divorce rate.
List family patterns common in today's society
nuclear, extended, single parent, blended, cohabitation, homosexual, adoptive, foster,( in class.. gangs, street families)
What are stages in family development(6)?
engagement/ commitment, establishment, expectant, parenthood, disengagement, senescence.
What are causes of family stress?
chronic illness, abuse, divorce
Difference between crawling and creeping?
Crawling is when baby is on stomach with head up. Creeping is when baby is on hands and knees.
Erickson's stage 1. Infancy; birth to 1.
Basic trust vs. mistrust; Infants learn to trust or mistrust that significant others will be able to properly care for their basic needs.. nourishment, cleanliness, physical contact.
Erickson's stage 2. Toddler; 1-3.
Autonomy vs. shame and doubt. Children learn to be self sufficient in walking, feeding, toileting or to doubt their own abilites.
Stage 3. Pre-school; 4-6
Initiative vs. guilt. Children want to undertake many adult like activities, sometimes going beyond the limits set by parentsand feeling guilty bc of it.
Stage 4. School age; 7-11
Industry vs. inferiority. Children eagerly learn to be competent and productive or feel inferior and are unable to do tasks well. (not playing football bc of height)
Stage 5. Adolescence; 12-19
Identity vs. role confusion. Figure out "Who am I". Establish sexual, ethnic, and career identities OR are confused about future roles to play.
Stage 6. Young adulthood; 20-44
Intamcy vs. isolation. seek companionship and love with another person OR become isolated from others.
Staeg 7. Middle adulthood; 45-65
Generativity vs. Stagnation. middle aged adults are productive. Perform meaningful work and raising a family OR become stagnant and inactive.
Stage 8. Late adulthood; 65+
Ego integrity vs. despair.
Older adults try to make sense out of their lives. See life as meaningful OR despairng at goals NEVER reached and questions never answered.
Identify Maslow's hierarchcy of needs.
physiological needs, safety and security, love and belonging, self esteem, and self actualization.
Piaget's Sensorimotor: birth - 2.
uses senses and motor abilities. reflexes. develops schema. interacts with environment, Develops thinking and goal directed behavior.

Deck Info